Laundry Developments and Dunkin Donuts

Well we have hit a roadbump in the laundry saga. My oldest was not really doing a good job. He started putting too much laundry in the washer so nothing really got clean. He also let the clothes get really wrinkled before he folded them. So I took him back to the laundry room and tried to teach him how to do the laundry all over again. Told him that he was not going to get paid for redoing the work. That if this was a real job he would have to do it over or maybe even get fired. So I took him and we worked together. Needless to say he was so not pleased with me.
 
Later that nght he came up to me and told me that he had thought about it and that if he wasn’t going to get paid that he was going to quit. I todl him that he couldn’t quit. His very logical response was a boss can’t tell you that you cannot quite. I responded that I was not his boss I was his mother, and this was a life skills lesson and not really about getting paid. That if he didn’t want to get paid then he would do it for nothing.  The shock on his face was priceless. He didn’t answer he just walked away.
 
By this morning he had reconciled the no-quiting reality and when he saw me he outlined the status of the laundry. I then mentioned to him that the towels are going to be done by his brother. I remembered that the yougner one had earned the priviledge of folding the towels becaue of lieing about chatting on the internet. So now that the younger one wants to earn money  I am going to let him do the entire towel cleaning event;  from load, to dry, to fold, to pack in the linen closet.  This should be another adventure in " life lessons of a 15 year old aspie."
 
On the life skills front for the 15 year old,  I told him that if we went into Dunkin Donuts he was going to order the donuts and pay for himself. He sooo did not like that idea. He said just because he did not know which one was the oven (see earlier blog life skills) in the kitchen did not mean he needed all these lessons. I told him if he didn’t order  then he didn’t go to Dunkin Donuts. So after the 15-year-old body slump, we have progressed from eye-rolling, he relented to order and pay for himself. He was none to nice to the girl behind the counter who had the patience of an angel.
 
Needless to say I continually chimed in when he got really bad and thanked  her for her patience. My son also did something that my older one does, he walked away to get a drink while leaving all his money on the counter. I had to take it and hold it until he came back and explain to him that someone could have taken the money and then he’d have nohing to pay with. So I handed him the money and made him hand it to the girl. Who gave him change. The entire time he kvetched and was terribly nasty. When the entire event was over, I picked him up by the shirt collar and led him out of the Dunkin Donuts. I then stood there on the street and gave him a lecture about behavior, being rude and growing up. It didn’t last too long. I then walked in to the bank. He just stood there not knowing what to do. Eventually he came in the bank and I told him to sit down. He sat and ate and drank, and we had no more problems that day.
 
You don’t have to agree with everything I did that day, but I can tell you that there is always a challenge. I wasn’t going to let the younger ones behavior go. I also thought immediate reprimand was the best course of action. He needs to get over having others do things for him. I think this is an issue that we really need to address in high school. He likes having his own personal slaves. But this does not make for a good and fruitful life. This is going to be the trauma to come. The downside of having a one-to-one. At least life is never dull.
 
 
Until next time,
 
Elise
 
 
About Elise Ronan

#JeSuisJuif #RenegadeJew... I am, therefore I write...
This entry was posted in Your Child's Attitude. Bookmark the permalink.