Summer Stress: Vacation Day One

So we are one day into our summer vacation and all hell broke loose yesterday. The younger one could not mind his own business and the older one took offense. They got into a big fight while we were out for a few minutes doing errands. Needless to say they both called and we rushed home. I am already looking forward to September and school.
 
This got me thinking about how to handle the summer. I know I wrote earlier about putting the younger one on a schedule but even that may not eleviate all the issues. These two boys get so annoyed at each other about the other one’s issues. The really ironic thing about it is that they get annoyed at each other over the issues that they each have. It’s like I’m in the middle of a really bad Three Stooges movie, only there are just two stooges and me (my husband I would call the studio head). As I said before my husband is really good at talking to the boys so he sat them down and talked quite frankly about how they behaved and how wrong it was. I’m not sure how much the younger one heard except for the punishment part, but the older one was totally mortified by his behavior and was very upset. I think a several year span  makes a big difference in development.
 
Of  course both boys wanted to know what punishment they were going to get, but we just couldn’t figure one out. Neither one really has that much to take away. There is no car, seperate phone, chat room or tons of friends that they can get grounded. Games are exchanged for old ones at GameStop. They have to earn money for new downloads. They already have chores, and we didn’t want to totally destroy their desire to become responsible by taking away any chance of earning some extra cash. So we thought the fact that they had to tell their therapists and discuss this with them would be a punishment. It is not easy for the boys to admit that they were wrong and to discuss the emotions that came along with the problem. This is probably the hardest thing and the most effective way to get them to learn some interactive and management skills. I guess its like I wrote before, that the chore has to fit the disability and the child. So too the punishment.
 
So now we start day two of vacation. The older one is at work, the younger one is sleeping, the husband is in the office and I am sitting  on my porch. Alone, quiet, in a peaceful  place except for the sounds of the forest behind me. Oh yeah,  we have a coyote in the woods and we have to be careful not to let the dogs out on the electric fence alone at night. It’s always something.
 
Until next time,
 
Elise
About Elise "Ronan"

#JeSuisJuif #RenegadeJew... Life-hacks, book reviews, essayist...
This entry was posted in You. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Stress: Vacation Day One

  1. Jae Gilvin says:

    I would like to express some appreciation to you for rescuing me from such a situation. Just after searching through the the net and finding ideas which are not powerful, I believed my entire life was over. Being alive without the presence of answers to the issues you have solved all through your main write-up is a crucial case, and the kind that could have in a negative way damaged my entire career if I had not noticed your web blog. Your own personal know-how and kindness in controlling all areas was very useful. I am not sure what I would’ve done if I hadn’t discovered such a stuff like this. I am able to at this moment look forward to my future. Thanks for your time so much for the specialized and effective help. I won’t be reluctant to propose the blog to any individual who desires counselling about this problem.

Comments are closed.